Garden Share Collective: September

The start of Spring seems a very fitting time to share what has been going on in our garden over the last month so here is my September instalment of the Garden Share Collective.

We have an ample supply of greens at the moment and are growing far too big a quantity for our little family.  Over the weekend, I’ve harvested what I could and have washed, spun and bagged our greens up ready to distribute to family, friends and neighbours.  We’ve not had much luck with anything else in the garden over the last month, although the beetroot plants are steadily growing so it won’t be too long I don’t think until they are ready for picking.  I’ve {sadly} given up on my kale which, after two months of tending to still hasn’t managed to grow much at all.  It seems like something might be up with the garden bed so I’m looking forward to getting in and re-fertilising before our spring seedling planting.   Our mulberry tree has absolutely exploded into a bush of new growth with hundreds of berry buds growing.  I can’t wait!  I’m still patiently awaiting our globe artichoke plant to produce some fruit after almost 2 years of steadily growing in the garden, I have high hopes for this season.  The eggplant bushes have had a good prune, ready to start sprouting and producing fruit again this Summer.

We’ve planted some flowers throughout the beds {which I wrote about here} and I’m excited about the camellia tree we’ve planted at the bottom corner of the garden.  I’ve given our Alyssum bushes a prune, taking the old thatched underneath ready for new growth.  I’m still looking for ways to incorporate more flowers in our garden – and in a more random fashion.  I’ve planted a few marigolds throughout the veggie patch and some nasturtiums too.  I’m going to look into taking some cuttings from our very healthy lavender bushes to propagate in other areas of the garden.  Our chicken coop is well on its way with the frame finished and the door hung today.  Next  we will construct the ‘roost’ section of the coop.  Then the roof, attaching the wire, a few coats of paint and we’ll be ready to welcome some little chickies into the family.  I’m very excited.

The main task on the list for the next month is to give all of our garden beds a good weed, fertilise and turn ready for spring planting which will take a few days.  Does anyone have a good ‘recipe’ for adding nutrients to the garden this time of year?

Thanks again to Lizzie from Strayed from the Table for organising such a great initiative.  I’ve loved reading about everyone’s gardens and look forward to seeing their progress this month.

Garden Share Collective, September | brownpaperbelle.comGarden Share Collective, September | brownpaperbelle.comGarden Share Collective, September | brownpaperbelle.comGarden Share Collective, September | brownpaperbelle.comGarden Share Collective, September | brownpaperbelle.comGarden Share Collective, September | brownpaperbelle.comGarden Share Collective, September | brownpaperbelle.comGarden Share Collective, September | brownpaperbelle.comGarden Share Collective, September | brownpaperbelle.comTheGardenShareCollective300pix


15 thoughts on “Garden Share Collective: September

  1. What a pity your kale isn’t doing well, but at least you have plenty of salad greens for you and your family! Would love to see how your artichoke goes.

  2. Your chook pen is straight and perfectly square. Ours is wonky in every which way possible. As a rule of thumb regarding adding nutrients back into the garden I use one bucket of compost per square meter. 1 cup of chook manure per square meter and then dig it in, we have clay so I also add 1/2 cup of dolomite to the mix.
    We picked the last of our mulberry’s off our tree this past weekend, its only been in the ground for 8 months and is very healthy looking. Mulberries are one of my favourite fruits. Your leafy greens look really good too. Look forward to seeing your freshly turned and planted beds next month. Also I usually leave my garden to rest for two weeks after a big turn of mixing bits into it, just so it settles.

  3. As we don’t yet have the worm thing or the chook thing happening, and our compost bin is bed building at the moment, we do tend to buy in our assistance – V is a fan of Go Go Juice and Seasol.

    I think I comment on the Mulberries every time I come!! I didn’t realise that eggplants were a longer term prospect than the heartbreak I experienced a few years ago.

  4. hello from another garden share collective-r, and my apologies for coming here late! nice meeting you.
    i love all those leafy salady greens – i’m swoonign with envy! and i too am introducign flowers around my vegie garden, to hopefully attract the bees.
    ps i love your blog header!

  5. That chook house looks lovely! Lucky chooks 🙂
    As for soil recipes, I use whatever I have at the time. Last year I used horse manure on all my brand new beds, and a few beds got two helpings. I think the second helping made a difference. And it is good to let it sit for a week or two if you have the time, but it’s still worthwhile even if you plant straight away. This year I’ve had compost ready to be dug in and I’m finding it very good so far, again letting it sit if there’s time. My view is, everything I do is going to improve the beds in the long run, so… better done than perfect!
    Thanks for sharing your garden, I’m slightly envious of all those greens.
    Jacqui

    1. Thanks Jacqui! I’ll definitely take your soil advice on board – I have been thinking of picking up some horse manure so that is perfect. And I completely agree with the ‘better done than perfect’ mantra – if you waited for what you did to be perfect, nothing would ever get done! Thanks so much for stopping by, and I’ll see you again next month 🙂

Leave a Reply

