Salt & Pepper Shake Up

Whenever we order Chinese, I can never go past ordering salt & pepper calamari.  And it is the one dish that we never seem to have for leftovers the next day.  It is too good.  I decided to try and recreate it at home.  I used this recipe and although it calls for whole squid which you prepare yourself, I cheated by buying the pre-prepared tubes from the fish shop.  The tubes I bought were impossibly tender – not in the slightest bit rubbery so I don’t think it affected the outcome too much.  The batter was really light and crispy and the spice mix was the perfect blend of nutty and spicy and salty.  Yum yum.

Chinese Salt & Pepper Calamari | brownpaperbelle.comChinese Salt & Pepper Calamari | brownpaperbelle.comChinese Salt & Pepper Calamari | brownpaperbelle.comChinese Salt & Pepper Calamari | brownpaperbelle.com


5 thoughts on “Salt & Pepper Shake Up

    1. I know! I’ve often struggled with cleaning the squid myself as I hate pulling them apart and finding a little tiny fish in its inside. Truly disgusting. And when you have a very real fear of fish – frightening too!

Leave a Reply

