All Bottled Up

When we were in London earlier this year, we drove past a {very} cool looking design store which had a collection of fluoro dipped water bottles hanging in the front window.  I’m not sure why, but the image of them really stuck in my mind.  When we arrived home, after being unable to find something similar, I thought – ‘I could make them’.  I couldn’t find glass paint that was fluorescent so, {on recommendation from the craft store} I used regular paint with a glass primer and medium.  It was difficult to achieve a ‘dipped’ look with the use of the paintbrush, so after the bottles had been amply painted with over five coats of paint, I tied the bottles to the washing line and using equal parts sealer and water, I slopped on large amounts of the mix so it dried smooth and even.  I love how they turned out – bold and bright and {almost} as cool as the original bottles I spotted.

DIY Fluoro Dipped Water Bottles | brownpaperbelle.comDIY Fluoro Dipped Water Bottles | brownpaperbelle.comDIY Fluoro Dipped Water Bottles | brownpaperbelle.comDIY Fluoro Dipped Water Bottles | brownpaperbelle.comDIY Fluoro Dipped Water Bottles | brownpaperbelle.comDIY Fluoro Dipped Water Bottles | brownpaperbelle.comDIY Fluoro Dipped Water Bottles | brownpaperbelle.com


11 thoughts on “All Bottled Up

  1. I just painted some empty textured mason jars in a similar way for our bathroom shelf, but I actually painted the inside of the jars so the outside was super glossy and the depth of the glass gave them a bit of dimension. Super cheap, super chic. Love these, btw!

Leave a Reply

