Oh Hi There Hot Stuff

The thing I love about shopping at the farmers’ markets is that you are gently forced to eat only what is in season.  Each year, I wait until red capsicums {peppers} are at the height of their season, and I buy a few kilograms to make a batch of hot sauce which will hopefully last until the next time they are in abundance and selling for a steal.

Armed with some super hot birds eye chillies from Adam’s {very lovely} sister and husband who manage to keep us very well stocked in the chilli department, I set out to make this year’s batch.  For me, this is an ever evolving recipe which in its original form was sent to me in a text message from my good friend {and kitchen and garden advisor} Beau.  Sometimes, I add lots of garlic or some onion, sometimes herbs or different spices.  It is sweet, salty and punchy and delicious on pizza, over poached eggs, stirred through a simple pasta sauce or mixed with sour cream as a dipping sauce.

Click here for the recipe>>> 

Homemade Hot Sauce | brownpaperbelle.com
Holy Homemade Hot Sauce | brownpaperbelle.com

Homemade Hot Sauce | brownpaperbelle.com
Homemade Hot Sauce | brownpaperbelle.com

Homemade Hot Sauce | brownpaperbelle.com
Homemade Hot Sauce | brownpaperbelle.com


6 thoughts on “Oh Hi There Hot Stuff

  1. Yum, I love hot sauce!! I make my own salsa, but have never tried making my own hot sauce. This looks delish, will definitely give it a whirl sometime! Thanks for stopping by Life Is Like A Dumpling 🙂

Leave a Reply

