Second-Chance Tacos

Sometimes, things don’t work out as well as you imagine they will the first time around.  I’ve been wanting to make fish tacos ever since I read about them here.  So, I picked up some Nile Perch, cut it into strips and prepared as directed.  But they didn’t work out as well as I hoped.  The fish was dry from being in the oven too long, the tortillas were also dry and crumbly.  The salsa was lacking…something.  All in all they were not terrible, just not fantastic.  But, determined to give them another try, I visited the fish market, picked up some more fish, bought a different variety of tortillas and used a different method for cooking the fish.  And I’m very glad I did.  They were truly delicious and I plan on including these into our regular fortnightly meal rotation.

One word of advice.  No matter how much they may look like whiting fillets, gar fish are tediously more fiddly and if at all possible, should be avoided.  Tasty, yes, but you will undoubtably have a sore shoulder from meticulously cutting out the rows of bone down the centre of each {already tiny} fillet.

Click here for the recipe>>>

Winter Fish Tacos | brownpaperbelle.comWinter Fish Tacos | brownpaperbelle.comWinter Fish Tacos | brownpaperbelle.comWinter Fish Tacos | brownpaperbelle.comWinter Fish Tacos | brownpaperbelle.com

{Thank you to A Cup of Jo  for the inspiration!}


6 thoughts on “Second-Chance Tacos

  1. Oo, I made fish tacos myself the other night! Luckily for me there were little to no bones in our fish. I’m glad you gave them another try- beautiful photos, it looks like everything worked out and was super tasty! Thanks for stopping by Life Is Like A Dumpling 🙂

Leave a Reply

