From Garden to Plate: Eggplant

As I’ve written about before (here and here), I’m continually amazed by the eggplants in my garden and how they just keep growing.  I wanted to make a meal where eggplant was the main component.  Within my trusty Italian handbook (The Essentials of Classic Italian Cooking by Marcella Hazan) I found a recipe for Aubergine Parmesan.  According to Marcella, for generations in Italy this dish was one of the most familiar meals you would find on a family dinner table. And I can understand why.  After tasting my first mouthful I looked up at Adam and said ‘This might just be the best thing I’ve ever tasted’.  The recipe has three main processes so is a little involved, but well worth the effort.  The silky eggplant flesh paired with the rich tomato sauce, creamy buffalo mozzarella and hit of basil – a most magical combination that produces something quite spectacular.

Click here for the recipe>>Eggplants | brownpaperbelle.com

Eggplant Parmesan | brownpaperbelle.comEggplant Parmesan | brownpaperbelle.comEggplant Parmesan | brownpaperbelle.comEggplant Parmesan | brownpaperbelle.comEggplant Parmesan | brownpaperbelle.comEggplant Parmesan | brownpaperbelle.com


3 thoughts on “From Garden to Plate: Eggplant

  1. Your eggplants are so beautiful… glossy, fat and succulent 🙂 I’m so jealous. We live in a shoebox apartment at the moment and our balcony gets fried by the sun twice per day. Everything that I’ve attempted to grow has died! Anyway (sigh) I love the look of your eggplant parmesan. Reminds me of an eggplant moussaka I made a few months ago, with layers of rich meaty tomato sauce and cheese (yum). Thanks for sharing your inspiration with us! Gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

