Cross My Bun

How did it happen that Easter is already here?  It has certainly crept up on me this year so to get into the spirit of things, over the weekend I made some date and ginger hot cross buns.  I used this recipe, but substituted the sultanas for dates (pitted and roughly chopped) and crystallised ginger (finely chopped).  They are deliciously spiced with ginger and strewn with silky date.  I probably undercooked them a little, but I sort of like that they have that doughy quality that is perfect for toasting, spreading on some butter and enjoying with a cup of earl grey tea.

Date & Ginger Hot Cross Buns | brownpaperbelle.comDate & Ginger Hot Cross Buns | brownpaperbelle.comDate & Ginger Hot Cross Buns | brownpaperbelle.comDate & Ginger Hot Cross Buns | brownpaperbelle.comDate & Ginger Hot Cross Buns | brownpaperbelle.com


10 thoughts on “Cross My Bun

  1. Gorgeous post Jess! I was just thinking about making some hot cross buns myself… love the addition of the candied ginger (my husband’s addicted to that stuff… I think he’d adore your version!). So glad you stopped by my blog… it gave me the beautiful opportunity to discover your corner of the blogsphere! Love that you’re a similarly creative soul… you’ve done an amazing job with the varied content and I’m happy to be your newest follower! xx

Leave a Reply

