Night Time Tea Time

After dinner and before bed I like to sip a cup of tea and unwind.  I feel like it helps with digestion and finishes off the night nicely.  But…even a slight amount of caffeine at this time will have me laying in bed at midnight, wide-eyed, ticking off virtual to-do lists while wondering why I can’t sleep.  Then I remember – that 9pm green tea has struck again.  This mint tea, however, is completely caffeine free and is just mint leaves from the garden, dried.  It couldn’t be simpler.  I cut a bunch of leaves from the garden and arrange them on a wire rack to dry out for around a week.  Once dried, I break the leaves off and store them in an airtight container.  I always have a jar in the cupboard and whenever it starts to get low, I just cut some more mint from the garden and make another batch.   An endless supply of tea, grown right from my very own garden – what could be better than that?

Garden Mint | brownpaperbelle.comMaking Mint Tea | brownpaperbelle.comDried Mint Leaves | brownpaperbelle.comHomemade Mint Tea | brownpaperbelle.comHomemade Mint Tea | brownpaperbelle.com


13 thoughts on “Night Time Tea Time

  1. Mint tea is one of my favourites! My one mint plant didn’t last very long, so for I make do with a pound bag from Republic of Tea. Mint is great all by itself for sleepy time (it also makes a great addition to Sleepytime Herbal Tea, heh), but on those mornings when I’m not in the mood for black tea, Republic of Tea’s Moroccan Mint plus an extra kick of mint is awesome when I want all the minty goodness plus a little wake-up of the green tea.

  2. I wish there was a “Love” button I could click! what a great idea. Mint tea is one of my favorite teas (sipping it now) but I have never made my own. I am excited to do that this summer!

Leave a Reply

