A rose by any other name

Fresh flowers will brighten the dullest of moods.  When I have the chance, I like to buy two dozen roses of a Saturday morning.  As soon as I get home, I trim the ends and plunge them into a container of iced water.  The sweet old German man who sells the roses tells me the colder the water, the better.  Then I divide them into three: a small arrangement for the bathroom, the same for the ensuite, and with the remaining, I bundle them together in an arrangment for the dining table.  If I change the water daily, they will last the week.  A simple (and beautiful) pleasure.

Roses in brown paper

RosesBathroom RosesRosesBathroom Roses


4 thoughts on “A rose by any other name

Leave a Reply

